Services and Projects

Services

Do-It-Yourself Kits

Current Projects

RISE: Legal Resources for Victims of Sexual Harassment and Violence

The RISE program is funded by the PEI Department of Justice and Public Safety and Justice Canada. RISE officially launched in July 2020.

RISE provides victims of sexual violence, including workplace sexual harassment, free legal resources.

Check out www.risepei.com for more information, or reach us by phone at 902‑218‑6143 or by email.

Sexting, Cyberbullying and the Criminal Code

Sexting, Cyberbullying & the Criminal Code is a two-year project funded by Public Safety Canada, under the Strengthening Community Readiness and Direct Intervention stream.

Community Legal Information will develop the following resources about sexting and cyberbullying:

  • A plain language legal publication
  • Short educational videos
  • An online toolkit
  • A workshop tailored for youth aged 12-18

All information will be based on the Criminal Code and Youth Criminal Justice Act provisions. The project will have input from a youth advisory committee. The goal is to increase the public's knowledge about the legal consequences of sexualized cyberviolence for victims, bystanders and perpetrators. The resources produced will also include information about healthy relationship building and decision-making skills.

Tenant Support Centre

The Tenant Support Centre is a project of Community Legal Information, funded by the PEI provincial government. We assist tenants on Prince Edward Island by providing legal information, referrals, as well as support during the rental hearing process. We also deliver workshops on tenants' rights and responsibilities. Check out rentingpei.ca for more information.

Peer Learning: Legal Information for Seniors

Peer Learning: Legal Information for Seniors is a one-year project funded by the New Horizons for Seniors program through Employment and Social Development Canada. The focus is on senior-led peer learning, where seniors learn from other seniors.

Community Legal Information is producing 15 legal education videos that share information about planning ahead to prevent elder abuse. The video series addresses a variety of topics including, wills, power of attorney, health care decisions, senior care facilities, and other topics of interest.

Each short video features trained senior volunteers sharing legal information about elder abuse prevention. Four videos will be available in French, and eleven English-language videos will be offered with French subtitles.

Family Law Public Legal Education & Information – Publications Update

This is a one-year project funded by the Canadian Family Justice Fund, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

This funding is being used to update all Community Legal Information's family law publications and resources. Updates will reflect recent changes made to legislation from An Act to amend the Divorce Act, the Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act and the Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.

Self-Represented Litigant's Handbook

Community Legal Information has received a grant from the Law Foundation of Prince Edward Island to develop a handbook for self-represented litigants (SRLs). A self-represented litigant is a person who represents themselves in court.

Development of a plain language and easy-to-use handbook for SRLs on PEI. This resource will support SRLs going through family law proceedings or for SRLs that would like to start a legal proceeding.

Family Law Essentials Workshop

Building on the success of our publication Family Law Essentials, (available in Mandarin, Arabic, Farsi, Spanish, Vietnamese, French and English), Community Legal Information received a grant from the Interministerial Women's Secretariat to develop a workshop about family law. The workshop has been delivered in Arabic, Mandarin and English.

This project began in 2019, and workshops are still available in English, French, Arabic and Mandarin upon request.

Services et projets

Services

Trousses maison

Projets en cours

RISE : ressources juridiques pour les victimes de violence et de harcèlement sexuel

Le programme RISE est financé par le ministère de la Justice et Sécurité publique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Justice Canada. RISE a été officiellement lancé en juillet 2020.

RISE fournit aux victimes de violence sexuelle, y compris de harcèlement sexuel au travail, des ressources juridiques gratuites.

Consultez www.risepei.com pour plus d'informations, ou contactez-nous par téléphone au 902‑218‑6143 ou par courriel.

Le sextage, la cyberintimidation et le Code criminel

Ce projet de deux ans a été retenu par Sécurité publique Canada, qui a lancé un appel de demandes pour des projets d'intervention directe et des projets soutenant la préparation des communautés.

Dans le cadre du projet, Information juridique communautaire créera les ressources suivantes sur le sextage et la cyberintimidation :

  • une publication juridique en langage clair et simple
  • de courtes vidéos éducatives
  • une boîte à outils en ligne
  • un atelier à l'intention des jeunes de 12 à 18 ans

Le projet vise à renseigner le public sur les conséquences juridiques de la cyberviolence sexuelle pour les victimes, les témoins et les auteurs des crimes. Toute l'information s'appuiera sur les dispositions du Code criminel et de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents. Les ressources offriront aussi de l'information sur l'établissement de relations saines et la prise de bonnes décisions. Un comité consultatif de jeunes contribuera également au projet.

Centre de soutien aux locataires

Le Centre de soutien aux locataires est un projet d'Information juridique communautaire financé par le gouvernement de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Nous aidons les locataires de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard en leur offrant de l'information juridique, des services d'aiguillage ainsi que du soutien durant le processus d'audiences concernant la location. Nous présentons aussi des ateliers sur les droits et les responsabilités des locataires. Consultez le site rentingpei.ca pour en savoir davantage.

Apprentissage par les pairs : information juridique pour les aînés

Ce projet d'un an est financé par Emploi et Développement social Canada dans le cadre du programme Nouveaux Horizons pour les aînés. L'accent est mis sur l'apprentissage par les pairs pour permettre aux aînés d'apprendre d'autres aînés.

Information juridique communautaire travaille à la production de 15 vidéos éducatives qui expliquent comment préparer l'avenir pour prévenir la violence contre les aînés. La série de vidéos touche à divers sujets d'intérêt : testaments, procurations, décisions en matière de soins de santé, établissements de soins aux personnes âgées, etc.

Chaque vidéo présente des aînés bénévoles formés qui partagent de l'information juridique sur la prévention de la violence envers les aînés. Quatre vidéos seront produites en français, et onze vidéos seront produites en anglais avec des sous-titres français.

Vulgarisation et information juridique en droit familial – Mise à jour des publications

Ce projet d'un an est financé par le Fonds canadien de justice familiale du ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada.

Ces fonds servent actuellement à mettre à jour toutes les publications et ressources produites par Information juridique communautaire sur le droit familial. Les mises à jour reflèteront les changements apportés à la législation par la Loi modifiant la Loi sur le divorce, la Loi d'aide à l'exécution des ordonnances et des ententes familiales et la Loi sur la saisie-arrêt et la distraction de pensions et apportant des modifications corrélatives à une autre loi.

Guide pour les plaideurs non représentés

Information juridique communautaire a reçu une subvention de la Law Foundation of PEI pour créer un guide à l'intention des plaideurs non représentés. Un plaideur non représenté est une personne qui décide de se représenter elle-même devant la cour, c'est-à-dire sans avocat.

La ressource, écrite en langage clair et simple, appuiera les plaideurs non représentés à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle aidera les plaideurs non représentés qui font face à des procédures relevant du droit familial ou qui souhaitent engager des poursuites judiciaires.

Atelier sur les principes du droit familial

Grâce à une subvention du Secrétariat interministériel aux affaires féminines, Information juridique communautaire a monté un atelier sur le droit familial. L'atelier fait fond sur le succès de notre publication, Le droit de la famille à l'Î.-P.-É., qui est disponible en mandarin, en arabe, en farsi, en espagnol, en vietnamien, en français et en anglais. L'atelier a été présenté en arabe, en mandarin et en anglais.

Le projet a vu le jour en 2019, mais l'atelier peut toujours être livré sur demande en anglais, en français, en arabe et en mandarin.